A. Public access computers are available at the Courthouse to access cases via a name search or by case number.
B. Courts in Kansas will not do any searches by phone.
C. Requests for criminal record searches for employment, credit, etc. from any agency or individual shall be referred to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation at (785) 296-8200 (Records Department) per Supreme Court Administrative Order No. 156.
D. No district court employee may conduct a search which requires making legal determination such as whether a judgment is still current or that lien exists per K.S.A. 20-3133.
Information and petitions for Small Claims filings may be found in the Riley County District Court Clerk's Office (Room 201), Riley County Courthouse. Docket fees for claims under $500 are $51.50; claims over $500 to $4000 are $71.50. It is your responsibility to furnish the addresses of individuals being summoned to Court. If you have a complex case, or one that involves a claim over $4000, you may wish to consult an attorney regarding other forms of legal action. A separate sheriff fee for service of a small claims summons is $15.00.
Pursuant to federal law, the State of Kansas has implemented a central payment system for processing of court ordered child support and maintenance.
Child support and maintenance payments should be made payable to "KANSAS PAYMENT CENTER" and mailed to the following address:
KANSAS PAYMENT CENTER
PO Box 758599
Topeka, KS 66675-8599
Please put your case number on your remittance with the county two-letter digit (RL) for Riley County to ensure proper credit. If you have questions, or would like information regarding payments through electronic funds transactions (EFT), please contact KPC customer service at 1-877-572-5722, or visit their website at kspaycenter. Please notify the Court in writing of any address change or name change.
The Court holds your marriage license for thirty (30) days after it is returned.
Anytime within that thirty days you may obtain a certified copy from the Court. The cost is $1.25 per copy. If you wish to request copies by mail, you must request within the thirty (30) day period. You must inform the Court of the bride's maiden name and the groom's name, enclose a self addressed stamped envelope along with enough money to cover the number of copies requested. Mail requests to Riley County District Court, 100 Courthouse Plaza, Manhattan, KS 66502.
After the thirty-day time period has passed, the original is sent to the Office of Vital Statistics, 1000 S. W. Jackson, Suite 120, Topeka, Kansas 66612-2221, where it is kept on permanent file. Copies from the Office of Vital Statistics are $15.00 for each copy. The phone number for Vital Statistics is (785) 296-1400.
Forms to request a copy of a marriage license, can be obtained at the office of the Clerk of the District Court, 100 Courthouse Plaza, Manhattan, Kansas 66502.
1. Before you can obtain a Protection from Abuse Order, you and the other person you want restrained must be intimate partners or household members. This means you and the person you want restrained must meet one of the following:
a.You are in a dating relationship,
b.You have been in a dating relationship in the past;
c.You are living together;
d.You have lived together in the past; or
e.You have had a child in common.
OR if you are seeking protection of a minor child, the child and the person you want restrained must be intimate partners or household members. This means the child and the person you want restrained must meet one of the above requirements. 2. Abuse must have occurred. This means that one of the following has occurred:
a. The person physically hurt or tried to hurt you or a minor child on purpose.
b. The person recently threatened to physically hurt you or a minor child.
c. The person engaged in physical conduct (touching or sexual intercourse) with a minor child under the age of 16 years of age.
3.You may file only two petitions for a Protection from Abuse Order in a 12 month period unless you are filing the petition on behalf of a minor child who has been abused.
4.You must be available to testify at future hearings as set by the Judge or in any other criminal action against the abuser. If you fail to appear, the case may be dismissed. 5.Other legal help may be available through your private attorney or legal services.
6. A final Protection from Abuse Order will expire after one year or on the date stated in the order, unless you request an extension from the court.
7. If you are the defendant and you want an order restraining the plaintiff from abuse, you must file a counter petition.
8. There are forms available for a Protection from Abuse at the Riley County District Court, 100 Courthouse Plaza, Manhattan, Kansas 66502
1. Before you can get a Protection from Stalking Order, stalking must have occurred. Stalking is an intentional harassment of another person that places the other person in reasonable fear for that person's safety. Harassment means a knowing and intentional course of conduct directed at a specific person that seriously alarms, annoys, torments, or terrorizes the person and that serves no legitimate purpose. Course of conduct means conduct consisting of two or more separate acts over a period of time, however short, that show a continuity of purpose, which would cause a reasonable person to suffer substantial emotional distress. 2. You may seek a Protection from Stalking Order for yourself, for your minor child, or for a minor child that lives with you. 3. You should be available to testify at future hearings as set for the judge. If you fail to appear, the case may be dismissed. 4. Legal help may be available through your private attorney or legal services. 5. A final Protection from Stalking Order will expire after one year or on the date stated in the order, unless you request an extension or modification from the court. 6. There are forms available for Protection from Stalking at the Riley County District Court, 100 Courthouse Plaza, Manhattan, Kansas 66502.
To obtain a Kansas Marriage License for individuals who are 18 years of age or older, either the bride or the groom must appear in the District Court Clerk's office (100 Courthouse Plaza) to apply. On the application you will need to know the following information for both bride and groom: 1) full name (first, middle and last) 2) date of birth 3) either a social security or driver's license number. Applying for a marriage licence begins a three day waiting period. At the end of the three days or anytime thereafter up to one year you may return to pick up your license. At the time you pick up your license there is a $85.50 fee to be paid in cash. The license is issued and you may have your ceremony performed anywhere within the State of Kansas, for a period of six months.Courthouse Plaza Map...