About Us

What We Do

The Riley County Household Hazardous Waste Department, located at 6245 Tuttle Creek Boulevard, moved into their current facility in March 1998. The department is staffed by six full time employees who have a total of over 135 years of experience working for Riley County.

During the winter months the department is also responsible for snow removal on county parking lots and assists Public Works with snow removal on county roads.

The department also assists the Clerk’s office with elections and is responsible for set-up and removal of all the electronic voting machines in Riley County.

Household Hazardous Waste

The Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) Department was established in 1990 with a one-day HHW collection event held on Earth Day, April 21, 1990 at CiCo Park.

Staff Assisting HHW Customer

In October 1990, Riley County opened the first permitted HHW facility in the state of Kansas and later in 1992 organized the first regional HHW program in Kansas working with three other neighboring counties. The region became known as the Big Lakes Regional HHW Program and consists today of eleven counties.

The Big Lakes Regional HHW Program consisting of eleven counties (Riley, Clay, Geary, Dickinson, Pottawatomie, Marshall, Nemaha, Morris, Marion, Washington and Wabaunsee) covers over 7,900 square miles and serves a population of 207,100 people.


Responsibilities include management of the collection, recycling, and proper disposal of all HHW collected within the region in accordance with our hazardous waste permit issued by KDHE.