Riley County District Court

District Courts are created by the Constitution. They are the trial courts of Kansas, with general original jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, including:

  • Divorce and domestic relations
  • Damage suits
  • Probate and administration of estates
  • Guardianships
  • Conservatorships
  • Care of the mentally ill
  • Juvenile matters
  • Small claims

It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. Kansas is divided into 31 judicial districts, with a varying number of counties and judges in each district.

Riley and Clay counties make up the 21st Judicial District. We have three district court judges and two district magistrate judges. The chief judge, in addition to his judicial responsibilities, has general control over the assignment of cases within the district and general supervisory authority over the administrative functions of the court.

Electronic Filing Order

Administrative Order Regarding Electronic Filing (pdf)

Jury Duty

Get information about Jury Duty.

Self-Help Information

District Courts and the District Courts in the State of Kansas