Types of Waste Accepted

The Riley County HHW facility can accept hazardous waste from all households and farmers living in Riley County. Hazardous wastes fall into one of four categories: flammable, corrosive, toxic or reactive. The following are examples of the types of waste that you may bring to the HHW facility for disposal or recycling:

  • Paints of all kinds including both latex and oil base
  • All pesticides including herbicides and insecticides
  • Lacquers, thinners, stains, paint removers and adhesives
  • Used motor oil and oil filters
  • Household cleaners
  • Spot and stain removers
  • Fertilizers
  • Waxes and polishes
  • All batteries including household and car batteries
  • Gas, solvents and antifreeze
  • Miscellaneous: roofing tar, sealers, photo chemicals, pool chemicals, mercury, and smoke detectors
  • Florescent / Compact bulbs
  • Prescription pills accepted when they are removed from original container and put in a plastic baggy. No sharps accepted.