Household Hazardous Waste History

The First Household Hazardous Waste Permit

Riley County was issued the first HHW permit in Kansas in 1990. We held our first one-day collection event on April 21, 1990, and opened the permanent collection facility on October 4, 1990.

Big Lakes Regional HHW Program

Riley County became the host county for a four county regional HHW collection program in 1992. The Big Lakes Regional Household Hazardous Waste Program has since grown to include the following eleven counties:

  • Clay
  • Geary
  • Dickinson
  • Marshall
  • Morris
  • Marion
  • Nemaha
  • Pottawatomie
  • Riley
  • Wabaunsee
  • Washington