North Central Flint Hills Area Agency on Aging


The North Central-Flint Hills Area Agency on Aging is a private, not for profit organization that plans, coordinates and sponsors services in 18 counties to enhance the quality and dignity of life for older Kansans and their families. The Area Agency works in partnership with local and county governments and senior citizens. Services include Friendship Meals at 46 Senior Centers, Information and Assistance, Family Caregiver Program, Case Management, In-Home Services, Housing Assistance, Legal Services, Older Kansans Employment Program, Senior Health Insurance Counseling, Keynotes Newspaper, and numerous volunteer opportunities.


The Board meets six times per year and at other times per its discretion.

Regular meetings shall be held at 9:30 a.m. on the third Tuesday of the odd numbered months, unless otherwise ordered by the Executive Committee. Meeting places are rotated among the 18 counties.

The November meeting shall be the annual meeting.

County Members

  • Chase
  • Clay
  • Cloud
  • Dickinson
  • Ellsworth
  • Geary
  • Jewell
  • Lincoln
  • Lyon
  • Marion
  • Mitchell
  • Morris
  • Ottawa
  • Pottawatomie
  • Republic
  • Riley - Open / Linda Morse
  • Saline
  • Wabaunsee


  • Advocacy
  • Executive Committee
  • Finance
  • Grants and Contracts
  • Housing
  • Special Projects

Board of Directors

A Board of Directors oversees the general supervision, management and control of the affairs of the Agency, particularly policy-making functions and assurance of sound management. The board is comprised of two representatives from each of the eighteen counties, appointed by their County Commissioners. Membership terms are two years in length, with terms of the two representatives from the same county expiring on alternating years. Members may serve three consecutive terms and may be reappointed after an absence of one year.

The officers of the board include: chairman, first and second vice-chairman, secretary, and treasurer. These officers are elected at the November annual meeting for a one-year term extending from January 1 through December 31.

The Board of Directors shall be represented between meetings by an Executive Committee with full authority to conduct required business. The Executive Committee shall consist of the elected officers of the Board of Directors, each standing committees chairperson, and the immediate past-Board Chairman. Actions of the Executive Committee shall be reported to the Board of Directors.

Standing committees shall include the Advocacy, Finance, Grants / Contracts, Housing, Special Projects Committees, and Executive Committee.