Riley County Planning Board/Board of Zoning Appeals


The Riley County Planning Board/Board of Zoning Appeals meets on the second Monday of each month. Meetings are held at 7:30 p.m. in the Commission Meeting Room, 1st Floor, Courthouse Plaza East, 115 North 4th Street. For more details, view the Riley County Planning Board/Board of Zoning Appeals Public Meeting and Application Schedule (pdf) and Rules for Public Comment Sessions.

Meeting Live Stream

MembersTerm Expires
John Wienck, ChairDecember 31, 2026
Joe Gelroth, Vice ChairDecember 31, 2024
Eric PeckDecember 31, 2025
Rita CassidaDecember 31, 2024
Jack PlattDecember 31, 2026


Most Recent (pdf) | View All


Most Recent (pdf) | View All

Agenda Packets

Most Recent (pdf) | View All

On February 18, 2010, the BOCC adopted Resolution No. 021810-12 designating the Riley County Planning Board as the Riley County Board of Zoning Appeals for Riley County, KS and dissolving the existing Riley County Board of Zoning Appeals.

Purpose - Riley County Planning Board

The Riley County Planning Board (RCPB) was established by the Riley County Board of Commissioners (BOCC) in 1949. The RCPB consists of five members, appointed by the BOCC, with staggered three-year terms and is responsible for:

  • Overseeing the preparation of the comprehensive plan for growth and development of Riley County;
  • Adoption of, annual review of and amendments to the comprehensive plan;
  • Implementation of the comprehensive plan through the adoption of appropriate land development regulations;
  • Conducting public hearings on rezoning, platting, and changes to the regulations and providing recommendations to the BOCC on various land development regulation matters.

Purpose - Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals was established by the County Commission on September 15, 1965 as a board of not less than 3 members and not more than 7 members.

This Board considers applications for variances and conditional uses. They also hear appeals from administrative decisions and actions taken by the Planning Staff.

Planning and Development Department