Road & Bridge Advisory Board


  • John Armbrust
  • Brian McNulty
  • Jerry Haug
  • David Beach
  • Gordon Hibbard
  • Open position
  • Open position
  • John Ellermann, ex-officio member
  • Greg McClure, ex-officio member
  • Amanda Webb, ex-officio member
  • Evan McMillan, ex-officio member


The responsibilities of the standing committee shall be as follows:

  • Refine and implement the project ranking system proposed by the technical subcommittee (See Appendix A of the Report of the Riley County Road and Bridge Advisory Board Committee;
  • Refine and implement the process proposed by the planning and environmental subcommittee for evaluating new road construction proposals; and (see recommendation 7); and
  • Assist the Board of Commissioners in evaluating the feasibility and desirability of implementing the potential road and bridge funding sources outlined in recommendation 10.

Board History

The Riley County Road and Bridge Advisory Committee (RBAC) was appointed by the Riley County Board of Commissioners in September 1997 and charged with the responsibility of reviewing past and present state, county, and township road and bridge construction and maintenance strategies. Based on the results of that review, the RBAC was asked to provide the Board of Commissioners with 1) a summary of findings from the review, 2) a report of the conclusions drawn, and 3) a plan or set of recommendations for future road and bridge programs. The basis for these recommendations is presented in detail in the body of the report. The RBAC recommends that the County Commissioners appoint a standing committee, Road and Bridge Advisory Board, to implement the recommendations put forth in the report. It is recommended that the standing committee consist of five ex-officio, nonvoting members of the county staff, and six citizens to be appointed for staggered three year terms. The county staff members shall be the Director of Public Works, the Assistant Director of Public Works and the Planning Director. Citizen members should not be allowed to succeed themselves on the committee.