Renewing Your License Plate

General Information

To get your renewal decal for your license plate for any truck weighing less than 12,000 pounds, any car, or any motorcycle, you need the following:

  • Renewal form from the Kansas Department of Revenue
  • Proof of insurance
  • Payment

Renewal Form

The Kansas Department of Revenue mails out the renewal forms about 45 days before your current license plate expires. When you receive your courtesy renewal, please check the license plate number on the form and make sure it is your current number, and that it is for the correct vehicle.

The license plate for your vehicle is renewed at the same time each year, regardless of the month in which you purchased it. The renewal month depends on the first letter of your last name, or the first letter of your company's name (if it is a company vehicle). See Tag List for a full schedule of expiration dates. The month in which you must renew appears on your current tag.

If you have lost or not received a renewal form by the fifth day of the month in which your current license plate expires, you can get the amount due by calling our office at 785-537-6320, visiting our office, or by using the Motor Vehicle Property Tax Estimator on our website. Please have last year's registration form, or your license plate number with you when you call or visit.

Proof of Insurance

You will need to provide proof of insurance, including the name of the insurance company, policy number, vehicle identification number, and expiration date. The insurance company must be a Kansas-approved insurance company.

Kansas law requires that the vehicle owner carry no-fault liability insurance on any vehicle (except a motorized bicycle).

Payment

You will also need to have money to cover the registration fee and the property taxes. Below the vehicle description, you will find the property tax and registration fees due. In the highlighted area you will find the Total Amount Due which may be paid by cash, check or credit card. If paying by credit card there is a convenience fee associated with the transaction.

If the property tax is not listed, you can get the amount by calling our office at 785-537-6320. Provide the year, make, tag number, and ID number of all vehicles to obtain the amount due.

If you are renewing the license plates on more than one vehicle, you may combine all the property taxes and the renewal fees in one payment.

Other Renewal Options:

  1. Online at iKan.ks.gov
    1. Pin number located on the renewal notice
      1. To Reprint your renewal notice http://mvs.dmv.kdor.ks.gov/PrintRenewals/
    2. Convenience Fee applied
      1. $2.00 for e-Check /per vehicle plus $1.00 Fee
      2. 2.5% of the amount charged plus $2.00 Fee
    3. You can use this for current or past due renewals
    4. You may drive up to 10 days with the receipt as you wait for the registration and decals to be mailed to you
  2. By Mail
    1. Mail to Riley County Treasurer, 110 Courthouse Plaza, Manhattan, KS 66502
    2. Include renewal notice, proof of insurance, and payment
    3. Military personnel be sure to include the following:
      1. Military Affidavit (https://www.rileycountyks.gov/DocumentCenter/View/103/Military-Personnel-Affidavit?bidId=)
      2. Current full month LES
      3. Current orders, ERB or ORB
  3. Place in the drop box located at 110 Courthouse Plaza
    1. Include renewal notice, proof of insurance and payment
    2. Military personnel be sure to include the following:
      1. Military Affidavit (https://www.rileycountyks.gov/DocumentCenter/View/103/Military-Personnel-Affidavit?bidId=)
      2. Current full month LES
      3. Current orders, ERB or ORB